drworsley's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Try Singing

leave a comment »

When I first started singing I realised at once just how much my body could not do, and therefore just how much the activity would deliver to my rehabiltation. I wrote an article for the Stroke Watch, and it is reproduced here.

You may think that singing in a choir is a slow leisurely pursuit. Not a bit of it!

This July, I sang with a choir at an early music festival here in Kent. On the day, I strapped on my heart monitor – and although my resting heart rate is around 62-65, it recorded 21 minutes at over 100 bpm – with a peak of 131.

Take a look at Try Singing shown under Stroke – Rehab for an early view of the benefits of singing for stroke survivors.

Written by dw

July 31, 2008 at 9:39 am

Leave a Reply

